Chicken Pie, Cackleberries and Winter Wonders!

Well it’s been a while since my last post! I hope you haven’t given up on me! It feels wonderful to be back : ) The month of May has been a time of feeling under the weather, getting sick, then getting better and catching-up. It can be quite a process! It’s lovely to be back to normal and in the garden, it’s amazing how much can change when you haven’t been in there for a bit. To my delight all my Winter flowers and herbs are popping up everywhere all on their own, it always amazes me : )

Beautiful Calendulas are coming up everywhere and smiling at me!

I’ve been busy planting out Winter seedlings that have been crying out to me from my gardening table! They should be happy now, they’ve made it to the garden! Some of them include, cabbages, broccoli and different varieties of spinach and silverbeet. I have a golden rule in my Winter Garden. I never plant out broccoli until I see coriander starting to germinate. I have found over the years if I grow broccoli and coriander together I never have an issue with pests. My veges are completely organic, so my herbs play a vital role. The way I like to go about my gardening is to try and work with nature not against it. Not only are the results beneficial to your health, it is a lot less expensive and labour intensive. My other rule is no neat rows!! No, there is nothing formal and neat about my garden, but to me it is rambling and beautiful. And thankfully each year I see the soil getting better and better. This will be our 9th year on this farm, good soil takes time and effort. Don’t give up, keep digging in those kitchen scraps and green manure crops. It works, but it takes time. Time not money! Don’t get caught up in all the stuff they try to sell you, gardening is for everyone, it shouldn’t cost you a fortune. Grow from seed, let plants go to seed and self seed, dig kitchen scraps and plants/weeds into your garden, mulch. Think back to times gone by and keep things simple.

Just in this spot alone there is borage, calendulas, Phacelia, dill, zinnia’s, lucerne and of course tomatoes!! All self-germinating without me!
Staggered plantings of my vegetables throughout it all
Definately rambling!

The new hens are settling in, their official breed name is a bond white, which is a white Leghorn cockerel crossed with a Rhode Island White Hen. I have been doing some research and the so called ISA Browns most people get, around here anyway, are actually Bond Brown hens and these are a cross between a Rhode Island Red cockerel crossed with a Rhode Island White Hen. So there you go! The ISA Brown genes have been kept a secret, so I’ve always wondered how people were able to breed them. I think most of them would be Bond Brown hens, or crosses. It seems the Bond Brown hen is more popular than the whites because people prefer a dark brown egg??? I wonder is this so?? Do you care if your egg is white, cream or dark brown?? I think if I was buying eggs I would like to see a mix of colours.

Cackleberries!!! Also known as eggs : )
I love to sit on my chair and spend time with the girls xx
I always catch these two napping in the garden ; )

I love this time of year, it’s such a relief to have lovely cool days and snuggly nights! I love the shorter days, when you live on the land it’s always hard to get everyone in and sorted for dinner. Even I want to be outside at the end of the day because it’s so much cooler. For a time the shorter days mean an early knock off and dinner on time! A change in seasons, also means a change in routines and I think that’s good for us.

I have a delicious Chicken Pie recipe to share with you, it’s so good!! And nothing time consuming or complicated.

Chicken Pie!

  • 400g Chicken Thighs diced (it’s okay if you use more)
  • 1 Large Onion diced
  • 2 Medium Carrots diced
  • 1 Large Potato diced
  • 1 Cup Frozen Peas and Corn
  • 1 Can Cream of Chicken Soup
  • 1/2 Cup Cream
  • 1 Cup Grated Tasty Cheese
  • 2 Sheets Puff Pastry

Take Puff Pastry from the freezer and cover with a damp tea towel, or at least have it covered so it doesn’t dry out and preheat your oven to 180 degrees celsius

Add a tbsp of oil to a pan, add chicken and fry until browned. Add onion and cook until transparent, add potato and carrot. Season to taste, fry off a little. Then add chicken soup and cream, stir through. Add peas and corn, cover and cook gently for 20-30 mins. Fold cheese through and allow to cool.

Grease a pie dish with butter and a dusting of flour. Place your sheet of puff pastry in, spread it out with your fingers so it fits out the dish. Spoon your filling in, place your second sheet of puff pastry on top, push down the sides so it is joined, sometimes I like to get a fork and push around the rim to finish off. Bake in your oven until golden.

I hope you try it and end enjoy it

I think this photo speaks for itself. But here are my thoughts 1- basil is extremely tough, it will even grow in my driveway! And 2- even in the most challenging circumstances life and hope can bloom xx

See you soon! xx

5 thoughts on “Chicken Pie, Cackleberries and Winter Wonders!

  1. I love your garden Joanna. It is looking so healthy and beautiful.

    Our chickens haven’t laid eggs for about a month, first time ever that I am getting no daily eggs. I will use this rest time to give them a health check and treat them for lice etc and hopefully they will be back to laying soon.

    Your chicken pie looks delicious!

    xTania

    1. Hi Tania, what a beautiful suprise to see you here!
      Thank you for popping over xx
      It feels like the garden loves this time of year as much as I do. As long as we don’t get frost!
      I went into our local produce store yesterday to get some chook food with 17% protein, apparently this is what they need to lay well. I like to use pellets, that way there is no waste and the birds aren’t a problem, coming and eating their food etc. However the pellets only come with 15% protein, but you can get a sort of powder to mix through their feed and this adds the extra protein. Something new I’ve learnt that I thought I would share incase it might be helpful with your girls.
      Apparently it helps with laying, size of eggs, hard egg shell and moulting.
      The chicken pie is so lovely, always a winner!
      Love and hugs xx

  2. A lovely post. Love the rambling garden with everything in together.
    We have 2 laying hens and 2 silkies here. I love the variety of egg shapes and sizes we get : )

Leave a comment